FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Phase 1: Jacking & Supporting Options

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Alan Smith

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:43 pm    Post subject: Phase 1: Jacking & Supporting Options Reply with quote

I am hoping to start some work on the car now, with a view to getting it through it's MOT, other commitments permitting.
I am not an experienced mechanic / restorer.
I have a domestic garage, trolley jack (no axle stands yet) and hand tools.
I am willing to buy more equipment and tools as required, for the long term.

As a starting point I am wondering about the best options for safely lifting the car up and supporting it while I work on it?

Jacking Points?
1) The built-in tubular steel jacking points have rusted away. Do I need them?
2) LH & RH ends of the front sub-frame, with timber packers to flush fill the recess in the bodywork?
3) I assume jacking the centre of the sub-frame is not recommended, unless using some form of beam to spread the load to the LH & RH ends?
4) The flat, horizontal, perimeter bodywork behind the front wheel arches and in front of the rear wheel arches look strong enough to jack with 18mm plywood load spreaders?
5) Ditto the flat, horizontal bodywork behind the rear axle? Plus, can I centre jack this area, using a spreader beam?
6) Should I be looking at other / better methods of lifting the car, than trolley jack?

Support?
1) My trolley jack gives 500mm maximum lift, but I could improvise more.
2) What is the ideal height of the underside of the bodywork above ground for easy access for maintenance and remove / install engine, gearbox, axle?
3) Axle stands seem to be limited to approx. 500mm height?
4) Are there other types of 'stands' available that give more height?

Does that covers it?
Any advice / information / feedback is welcome.
Thanks.
Alan
TonyS